Welcome!

Deadlines to apply

February 7, 2019. You will automatically be considered for a scholarship if you apply before that date and if all of the audition material has been received.

April 4, 2019. Without a scholarship, acceptances according to available places.

Successful applicants will have to pay 50% of the fees within 14 days after the reception of the acceptance letter in order to reserve their place.

The full balance must be paid before May 2, 2019. In case of cancellation, the first payment is non-refundable. The second payment can be reimbursed if the student notifies the Admission Coordinator by e-mail at admissions@orford.mu, at the latest one month (30 days) before the first day of the stay. A $50 administration fee will then be deducted from the amount.

If a medical problem beyond your control prevents you from taking part in the Orford Music Academy, your deposit may be used for the subsequent year when a medical certificate is provided. However, you will have to go through the full audition process and be accepted again. If a scholarship was granted to you, it is not transferable to the following year.

Fees

  • tuition fees;
  • room in double occupancy;
  • meals at the Orford Music cafeteria;
  • access to concerts at the Orford Music Festival, subject to availability of tickets;
  • access to the training room.

Multi-level Rates:

The rate for a one-week stay is $1 020.
The rate for a two-week stay is $970 per week.
For three weeks or more, the rate is $920 per week.

Voice and Piano Duet

Multi-level Rates:

The rate for a one-week stay is $1020.
The rate for a two-week stay is $970 per week.
For three weeks or more, the rate is $920 per week.

________________

Improvisation 
Baroque Music
How to Reach your Full Potential
How to Win an Audition
How to Stand Out as a Chamber Musician

$920

If you add one week of master class, the rate will be $945.
For a stay of three weeks or more, the rate is $895 per week.

________________

Piano Trio
Orford Winds
Composition
Contemporary Music

$1840

If you add one or more weeks of master classes:
The rate will be $920 per week.

Brian Manker

Cello


Solo Cellist of the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) since 1999, Brian Manker enjoys a diverse and varied musical career as a performer and teacher. In addition to being a frequent concerto soloist with the OSM, Mr. Manker is a member of the New Orford String Quartet and the Adorno Quartet. He has performed throughout North America as a member of the Harrington String Quartet, the Cassatt Quartet, and the Atlanta Chamber Players, and performed chamber music with many distinguished artists including Walter Trampler, Laurence Lesser, Gary Graffman, Lee Luvisi, and Jean-Philippe Collard. A Grand Prize winner as a member of the Harrington Quartet at the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition, Mr. Manker also received a special commendation from Sir Yehudi Menuhin at the Portsmouth International String Quartet Competition. Formerly the co-director of Festival Alexandria, he has participated in many music festivals, including Norfolk, Blossom, Chamber Music East, Roundtop, Swannanoa, the Ottawa Chamber Music Festival, masterclasses at Orford, Domaine Forget, and at the Canton International Summer Music Academy in China.

He has performed for radio, television, and internet broadcasts on the CBC, WFMT Chicago, and WQXR New York, and can be heard on his 2010 recording of the complete Bach Cello Suites on Storkclassics, as well as numerous recordings of chamber music and of course with the OSM. Mr. Manker served on the jury of the prestigious and historic Prague Spring International Cello Competition in 2006. Currently on the faculty of McGill University, Brian Manker has also taught at West Texas State and Emory Universities. In 2007, Mr. Manker launched the Beethoven Project, which aims to perform all the quartets of Beethoven in their proper context, the private salon. As a companion to this project, Mr. Manker maintains a blog at http://bquartets.blogspot.com/. He also enjoys a critically acclaimed sonata recital partnership with the pianist André Laplante.

Mr. Manker plays on a cello made by Samuel Zygmuntowicz in 2005.

You will also like…

  • Amir Eldan
  • John Kadz
  • Michel Strauss
  • Lluis Claret
X

Bienvenue!

Date limite d’inscription :

7 février 2019. Vous serez automatiquement considéré pour une bourse si vous vous inscrivez avant cette date et que tout le matériel d’audition a été reçu.

4 avril 2019. Sans possibilité de bourse, acceptations selon les places disponibles.

Les candidats retenus devront acquitter un dépôt de 50 % des frais de stage dans les 14 jours suivants la réception de la lettre d’acceptation afin de réserver leur place.

Le solde complet devra être payé avant le 2 mai 2019En cas d’annulation, le premier versement est non remboursable. Le deuxième versement peut être remboursé si le stagiaire avertit le coordonnateur des admissions par courriel à l’adresse admissions@orford.mu au plus tard un mois (30 jours) avant le début de son séjour. Des frais d’administration de 50 $ seront alors retenus sur le montant.

Si un problème médical hors de votre contrôle vous empêche de prendre part à l’Académie Orford Musique, votre dépôt pourra être utilisé pour l’année subséquente. Une attestation médicale est obligatoire pour que le transfert du dépôt s’applique. Toutefois, vous devrez repasser le processus complet d’audition et être à nouveau accepté(e). Si une bourse vous avait été octroyée, celle-ci n’est pas transférable pour l’année suivante.

Coût du séjour

  • les frais d’enseignement;
  • l’hébergement en occupation double;
  • les repas à la cafétéria d’Orford Musique;
  • l’accès aux concerts du Festival Orford Musique, selon la disponibilité des billets;
  • l’accès à la salle d’entraînement.

Tarifs à paliers multiples :

Le tarif pour un séjour d’une semaine est de 1 020 $.
Le tarif pour un séjour de deux semaines est de 970 $ par semaine.
Pour les séjours de trois semaines ou plus, le coût est de 920 $ par semaine.

Duo chant et piano

Tarifs à paliers multiples :

Le tarif pour un séjour d’une semaine est de 1 020 $.
Le tarif pour un séjour de deux semaines est de 970 $ par semaine.
Pour les séjours de trois semaines ou plus, le coût est de 920 $ par semaine.

________________

Improvisation 
Musique baroque 
Comment atteindre votre plein potentiel 
Comment gagner une audition 
Comment devenir un chambriste exceptionnel 

920 $

Si vous ajoutez une semaine de classes de maître, le tarif de celle-ci sera de 970 $.
Pour les séjours de trois semaines ou plus, le coût est de 920 $ par semaine.

________________

Trio avec piano
Vents d’Orford
Composition
Musique contemporaine

1840 $

Si vous ajoutez une ou plusieurs semaines de classes de maître :
Le tarif sera de 920 $ par semaine.

Brian Manker

Violoncelle

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal
École de musique Schulich de l’Université McGill
Nouveau Quatuor à cordes Orford


Violoncelle solo de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) depuis 1999, Brian Manker a une carrière variée comme interprète et professeur. En plus de souvent jouer comme soliste avec l’OSM, il est membre du Nouveau Quatuor à cordes Orford et du Quatuor Adorno. En tant que membre du Quatuor à cordes Harrington, du Quatuor Cassatt et des Atlanta Chamber Players, il a joué à travers l’Amérique du Nord, en plus de participer à des concerts de musique de chambre avec bon nombre d’artistes distingués, dont Walter Trampler, Laurence Lesser, Gary Graffman, Lee Luvisi et Jean-Philippe Collard. Avec le Quatuor à cordes Harrington, il a remporté le grand prix au Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition, en plus d’une mention très élogieuse de Sir Yehudi Menuhin au Portsmouth International String Quartet Competition. Ancien codirecteur du Festival Alexandria, monsieur Manker a joué dans les plus grands festivals de musique, spécialement ceux de Norfolk, Blossom, Chamber Music East, Roundtop, Swannanoa et au Festival de musique de chambre d’Ottawa, en plus de présenter des classes de maître à Orford, au Domaine Forget et à l’Académie internationale de musique présentée l’été à Canton, en Chine.

Il a joué lors de diffusions à la radio, à la télévision et sur Internet sur les ondes de la CBC, de WFMT Chicago et de WQXR New York. Il a enregistré les Suites pour violoncelle seul de Bach sous l’étiquette Storkclassics, plusieurs disques de musique de chambre et, bien sûr, avec l’OSM. En 2006, monsieur Manker était membre du jury du prestigieux Concours international de violoncelle du Festival du Printemps de Prague. Brian Manker est actuellement membre de la Faculté de musique à l’Université McGill. Il a aussi enseigné aux universités West Texas State et Emory. En 2007, il a lancé le Projet Beethoven, dont l’objectif est d’interpréter tous les quatuors à cordes de Beethoven dans leur contexte original, c’est-à-dire le salon privé. Dans le cadre de ce projet, monsieur Manker anime un blogue sur http://bquartets.blogspot.com/. Il jouit également d’une excellente réputation de duettiste avec le pianiste André Laplante.

Vous aimerez aussi…

  • John Kadz
  • Michel Strauss
  • Laurence Lesser
  • Lluis Claret
X