Welcome!

Deadlines to apply

February 7, 2019. You will automatically be considered for a scholarship if you apply before that date and if all of the audition material has been received.

April 4, 2019. Without a scholarship, acceptances according to available places.

Successful applicants will have to pay 50% of the fees within 14 days after the reception of the acceptance letter in order to reserve their place.

The full balance must be paid before May 2, 2019. In case of cancellation, the first payment is non-refundable. The second payment can be reimbursed if the student notifies the Admission Coordinator by e-mail at admissions@orford.mu, at the latest one month (30 days) before the first day of the stay. A $50 administration fee will then be deducted from the amount.

If a medical problem beyond your control prevents you from taking part in the Orford Music Academy, your deposit may be used for the subsequent year when a medical certificate is provided. However, you will have to go through the full audition process and be accepted again. If a scholarship was granted to you, it is not transferable to the following year.

Fees

  • tuition fees;
  • room in double occupancy;
  • meals at the Orford Music cafeteria;
  • access to concerts at the Orford Music Festival, subject to availability of tickets;
  • access to the training room.

Multi-level Rates:

The rate for a one-week stay is $1 020.
The rate for a two-week stay is $970 per week.
For three weeks or more, the rate is $920 per week.

Voice and Piano Duet

Multi-level Rates:

The rate for a one-week stay is $1020.
The rate for a two-week stay is $970 per week.
For three weeks or more, the rate is $920 per week.

________________

Improvisation 
Baroque Music
How to Reach your Full Potential
How to Win an Audition
How to Stand Out as a Chamber Musician

$920

If you add one week of master class, the rate will be $945.
For a stay of three weeks or more, the rate is $895 per week.

________________

Piano Trio
Orford Winds
Composition
Contemporary Music

$1840

If you add one or more weeks of master classes:
The rate will be $920 per week.

Laurence Lesser

Cello

New England Conservatory (USA)

Students must be present for the full two weeks


Laurence Lesser is a laureate of the 1966 Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow and a participant in the historic Heifetz-Piatigorsky concerts and recordings. Mr. Lesser has been soloist with the Boston Symphony Orchestra, the London Philharmonic, the New Japan Philharmonic and orchestras worldwide. He has collaborated with conductors such as Ozawa, Mehta, Rostropovich, Tilson Thomas and many others. He was the first to record the Schoenberg Cello Concerto and in 1966 was the first to perform it with orchestra since its 1936 introduction by Emanuel Feuermann.

As a chamber musician he has participated at the Casals, Marlboro, Spoleto and Santa Fe festivals and continues his association of many years as a frequent guest of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center in New York. He has also been a member of juries for numerous international competitions, including the Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow in 1994 and 2007.

Mr. Lesser attended Harvard College, where he studied mathematics and graduated with honors. At the end of a Fulbright year studying music in Germany, he won first prize in the Cassadó Competition in Siena, Italy. At the master classes with Casals in Zermatt in 1961, the great master singled Lesser out for praise, saying, “Thank God who has given you this great gift!” His New York debut recital in 1969 was greeted as “triumphant”.

In a life full of successful concerts, Laurence Lesser has always been passionate about teaching. He came to New England Conservatory in Boston in 1974 as a member of the faculty, after being the teaching assistant of Gregor Piatigorsky at the University of Southern California in Los Angeles and spending four years at the Peabody Institute in Baltimore. He served as president of NEC from 1983 to 1996. Mr. Lesser currently teaches an international class of highly gifted cellists at the Conservatory and plays a 1622 cello made by the brothers Amati in Cremona, Italy.

In 2005, Lesser was named a “Chevalier du violoncelle” by the Eva Janzer Memorial Cello Center at Indiana University, awarded for distinguished achievements and contributions to the world of cello playing and teaching.

In 2010, his recordings of the complete Beethoven for cello and piano with Hae-Sun Paik was issued by Bridge Records. The set has been enthusiastically received from all sides. The Strad magazine has written that the “playing is vibrantly alive […] His winning combination of freshness and affection is tailor-made for the lyrically enchanting op. 69 Sonata, but perhaps the greatest revelations arrive with the two op. 102 Sonatas […]”

Lesser’s recordings of the complete Bach Suites, recently issued, can be found through his website laurencelesser.com. Highlighted is his incorporation into Suite V of the lute suite in g minor (from the manuscript in the composer’s hand).

Laurence Lesser is President Emeritus of the Walter W. Naumburg Chair of Music.

You will also like…

  • Yegor Dyachkov
  • Michel Strauss
  • John Kadz
  • Brian Manker
X

Bienvenue!

Date limite d’inscription :

7 février 2019. Vous serez automatiquement considéré pour une bourse si vous vous inscrivez avant cette date et que tout le matériel d’audition a été reçu.

4 avril 2019. Sans possibilité de bourse, acceptations selon les places disponibles.

Les candidats retenus devront acquitter un dépôt de 50 % des frais de stage dans les 14 jours suivants la réception de la lettre d’acceptation afin de réserver leur place.

Le solde complet devra être payé avant le 2 mai 2019En cas d’annulation, le premier versement est non remboursable. Le deuxième versement peut être remboursé si le stagiaire avertit le coordonnateur des admissions par courriel à l’adresse admissions@orford.mu au plus tard un mois (30 jours) avant le début de son séjour. Des frais d’administration de 50 $ seront alors retenus sur le montant.

Si un problème médical hors de votre contrôle vous empêche de prendre part à l’Académie Orford Musique, votre dépôt pourra être utilisé pour l’année subséquente. Une attestation médicale est obligatoire pour que le transfert du dépôt s’applique. Toutefois, vous devrez repasser le processus complet d’audition et être à nouveau accepté(e). Si une bourse vous avait été octroyée, celle-ci n’est pas transférable pour l’année suivante.

Coût du séjour

  • les frais d’enseignement;
  • l’hébergement en occupation double;
  • les repas à la cafétéria d’Orford Musique;
  • l’accès aux concerts du Festival Orford Musique, selon la disponibilité des billets;
  • l’accès à la salle d’entraînement.

Tarifs à paliers multiples :

Le tarif pour un séjour d’une semaine est de 1 020 $.
Le tarif pour un séjour de deux semaines est de 970 $ par semaine.
Pour les séjours de trois semaines ou plus, le coût est de 920 $ par semaine.

Duo chant et piano

Tarifs à paliers multiples :

Le tarif pour un séjour d’une semaine est de 1 020 $.
Le tarif pour un séjour de deux semaines est de 970 $ par semaine.
Pour les séjours de trois semaines ou plus, le coût est de 920 $ par semaine.

________________

Improvisation 
Musique baroque 
Comment atteindre votre plein potentiel 
Comment gagner une audition 
Comment devenir un chambriste exceptionnel 

920 $

Si vous ajoutez une semaine de classes de maître, le tarif de celle-ci sera de 970 $.
Pour les séjours de trois semaines ou plus, le coût est de 920 $ par semaine.

________________

Trio avec piano
Vents d’Orford
Composition
Musique contemporaine

1840 $

Si vous ajoutez une ou plusieurs semaines de classes de maître :
Le tarif sera de 920 $ par semaine.

Laurence Lesser

Violoncelle

New England Conservatory (États-Unis)

La présence des étudiants est requise pour les deux semaines complètes de la classe


Laurence Lesser a été lauréat de la Tchaikovsky Competition de Moscou en 1966 et il a été également l’un des participants aux concerts et aux enregistrements historiques de Heifetz-Piatigorsky. Monsieur Lesser a été soliste pour le Boston Symphony Orchestra, le London Philharmonic, le New Japan Philharmonic et de nombreux autres orchestres à travers le monde. Il a collaboré avec plusieurs chefs d’orchestre tels qu’Ozawa, Metha, Rostropovich et Tilson Thomas. Il a été le premier à enregistrer le Concerto pour violoncelle de Schoenberg et, en 1966, il a été également le premier à le jouer avec orchestre depuis son introduction par Emanuel Feuermann en 1936.

À titre de chambriste, il a participé aux festivals de Casals, Marlboro, Spoleto, Santa Fe et il demeure depuis plusieurs années un invité régulier de la Chamber Music Society du Lincoln Center à New York. Il est aussi fréquemment invité à titre de membre du jury dans diverses compétitions internationales, dont la Tchaikovsky Competition à Moscou en 1994 et en 2007.

Laurence Lesser a étudié les mathématiques au Harvard College où il a gradué avec honneur. Au terme de sa première année d’études en Allemagne en tant que boursier Fulbright, il a remporté le Premier Prix à la Cassadò Competition à Sienne en Italie. Lors d’une classe de maître qu’il a suivie avec Casals à Zermatt en 1961, le grand maître a dit de Lesser : « Merci à Dieu de vous avoir donné ce grand talent! » Son premier concert à New York en 1969 fut qualifié de « triomphant ».

Au cours d’une vie remplie de succès, Laurence Lesser a toujours été un professeur passionné. Il est venu enseigner au New England Conservatory à Boston en 1972 après avoir été l’assistant du professeur Gregor Piatigorsky à la University of Southern California à Los Angeles. Il a passé quatre années au Peabody Institute de Baltimore. Il a été président du New England Conservatory de 1983 à 1996. Laurence Lesser joue sur un violoncelle fabriqué en 1622 à Cremona en Italie par les frères Amati.

En 2005, Laurence Lesser a été nommé Chevalier du violoncelle par le Eva Janzer Memorial Cello Center à l’Université d’Indiana pour ses réalisations et sa contribution au monde du violoncelle.

En 2010, monsieur Lesser et la pianiste Hae-Sun Paik ont terminé l’enregistrement de l’oeuvre complète pour violoncelle et piano de Beethoven sous l’étiquette Bridge Records. Cet enregistrement a été acclamé de toutes parts par les critiques. La revue Strad a mentionné que le « jeu est vibrant de vie […] la combinaison gagante entre la fraîcheur et l’affection est conçue sur mesure pour la Sonate op. 69, par contre la plus grande révélation est sans contredit les deux Sonates de l’opus 102 […] »

Les enregistrements des suites complètes de Bach, joués par Lesser et récemment lancés, sont disponibles sur son site Internet laurencelesser.com.

Laurence Lesser est président émérite de la Walter W. Naumburg Chair of Music.

Vous aimerez aussi…

  • Gryphon Trio
  • Robert Cohen
  • Lluis Claret
  • Brian Manker
X