Welcome!

Deadlines to apply

February 5, 2018. You will automatically be considered for a scholarship if you apply before that date and if all of the audition material has been received.

April 5, 2018. Without a scholarship, acceptances according to available places.

Successful applicants will have to pay 50% of the fees within 14 days after the reception of the acceptance letter in order to reserve their place.

The full balance must be paid before May 4, 2017. In case of cancellation, the first payment is non-refundable. The second payment can be reimbursed if the student notifies the Admission Coordinator by e-mail at admissions@orford.mu, at the latest one month (30 days) before the first day of the stay. A $50 administration fee will then be deducted from the amount.

If a medical problem beyond your control prevents you from taking part in the Orford Music Academy, your deposit may be used for the subsequent year when a medical certificate is provided. However, you will have to go through the full audition process and be accepted again. If a scholarship was granted to you, it is not transferable to the following year.

Fees

  • tuition fees;
  • room in double occupancy;
  • meals at the Orford Music cafeteria;
  • access to concerts at the Orford Music Festival, subject to availability of tickets
  • access to the training room

Multi-level Rates:

The rate for a one-week stay is $995.
The rate for a two-week stay is $945 per week.
For three weeks or more, the rate is $895 per week.

Voice and Piano Duet

Multi-level Rates:

The rate for a one-week stay is $995.
The rate for a two-week stay is $945 per week.
For three weeks or more, the rate is $895 per week.

________________

Improvisation 
Baroque Music
Fingerstyle Guitar
How to Reach your Full Potential
How to Win an Audition
How to Stand Out as a Chamber Musician

$895

If you add one week of master class, the rate will be $945.
For a stay of three weeks or more, the rate is $895 per week.

________________

Piano Trio
Orford Winds
Composition
Contemporary Music

$1790

If you add one or more weeks of master classes:
The rate will be $895 per week.

Extra

Bandeau-3000px-court-En

Interview with
Sara Davis Buechner

Please tell us about this program.
The recital I will play at Orford Music is a reprise of a concert I gave last year at Carnegie Recital Hall in New York City. Given in connection with my 30 years’ association with the Yamaha Piano, it was a program exploring the range of Japanese piano music of the 20th century, both at the keyboard and around it.

What made you think of integrating mime into the project?
Because of the intimate feeling of the smaller Carnegie Recital Hall, I felt it was a good visual space to explore, and asked my dear friend Yayoi Hirano to join me as a special guest on that occasion. Yayoi is an unusual and unique artist, who combines aspects of both the Noh and Kabuki style of Japanese dance with the use of her own carved masks. With ten of these expressive masks, she choreographed the ten short pieces of Jacques Ibert’s Histoires.

Jacques Ibert is a French composer. What was it that made you feel his music might work with Japanese dance?
It was the very spartan quality of this French music that made me instantly think of Yayoi’s Japanese precision, in imagining a worthy dance realization of the score. Yayoi Hirano’s choreographic interpretation of these pieces brings a fresh and immediate visual reality to these ten piano miniatures. The story characters themselves are realized in the faces of Ms. Hirano’s masks, but their personalities are even more vividly fleshed out in her body movements and rhythmic translation of the music’s mood.

Connecting the piano to both dance and film has been my own offbeat but most-beloved form of chamber music, and my work with Yayoi has been some of the most rewarding of my artistic life.

And what about the rest of the program?
The unusual connection of French and Japanese music is further explored with the inclusion of Kouji Taku’s Variations on a Theme of Poulenc. The balance of the program includes Yoshinao Nakada’s wartime-influenced Piano Sonata of 1946 and Ten Etudes commissioned by myself from composer Yukiko Nishimura.

Both Yayoi and I are so delighted to bring this concert to Orford Music and we hope it will be a unique and enjoyable evening!

SarahDavisBuechner

Sara Davis Buechner,
pianist & professor

PARTNERS AND SPONSORS

Hydro-Quebec
UdeS
FieraCapital
desjardins-300x85
UdeM
TVA
Quebec
Orford
logo-LaTribune
Canada
Magog
LeRefletduLac
X

Bienvenue!

Date limite d’inscription :

5 février 2018. Vous serez automatiquement considéré pour une bourse si vous vous inscrivez avant cette date et que tout le matériel d’audition a été reçu.

5 avril 2018. Sans possibilité de bourse, acceptations selon les places disponibles.

Les candidats retenus devront acquitter un dépôt de 50 % des frais de stage dans les 14 jours suivants la réception de la lettre d’acceptation afin de réserver leur place.

Le solde complet devra être payé avant le 4 mai 2017En cas d’annulation, le premier versement est non remboursable. Le deuxième versement peut être remboursé si le stagiaire avertit le coordonnateur des admissions par courriel à l’adresse admissions@orford.mu au plus tard un mois (30 jours) avant le début de son séjour. Des frais d’administration de 50 $ seront alors retenus sur le montant.

Si un problème médical hors de votre contrôle vous empêche de prendre part à l’Académie Orford Musique, votre dépôt pourra être utilisé pour l’année subséquente. Une attestation médicale est obligatoire pour que le transfert du dépôt s’applique. Toutefois, vous devrez repasser le processus complet d’audition et être à nouveau accepté(e). Si une bourse vous avait été octroyée, celle-ci n’est pas transférable pour l’année suivante.

Coût du séjour

  • les frais d’enseignement;
  • l’hébergement en occupation double;
  • les repas à la cafétéria d’Orford Musique;
  • l’accès aux concerts du Festival Orford Musique, selon la disponibilité des billets
  • l’accès à la salle d’entraînement

Tarifs à paliers multiples :

Le tarif pour un séjour d’une semaine est de 995 $.
Le tarif pour un séjour de deux semaines est de 945 $ par semaine.
Pour les séjours de trois semaines ou plus, le coût est de 895 $ par semaine.

Duo chant et piano

Tarifs à paliers multiples :

Le tarif pour un séjour d’une semaine est de 995 $.
Le tarif pour un séjour de deux semaines est de 945 $ par semaine.
Pour les séjours de trois semaines ou plus, le coût est de 895 $ par semaine.

________________

Improvisation 
Musique baroque 
Guitare fingerstyle
Comment atteindre votre plein potentiel 
Comment gagner une audition 
Comment devenir un chambriste exceptionnel 

895 $

Si vous ajoutez une semaine de classes de maître, le tarif de celle-ci sera de 945 $.
Pour les séjours de trois semaines ou plus, le coût est de 895 $ par semaine.

________________

Trio avec piano
Vents d’Orford
Composition
Musique contemporaine

1790 $

Si vous ajoutez une ou plusieurs semaines de classes de maître :
Le tarif sera de 895 $ par semaine.

Extra

Bandeau-3000px-court

Entrevue avec l’artiste
Sara Davis Buechner

Pourquoi avez-vous créé un concert mettant en vedette la musique du Japon?
Le programme que je présenterai à Orford Musique reprend celui d’un concert que j’ai donné l’an dernier à la salle de récital de Carnegie Hall, à New York. Tirant profit de mes 30 années de collaboration avec le fabricant de pianos Yamaha, j’y explore l’étendue du répertoire pianistique japonais du 20e siècle, tant au clavier qu’autour de celui-ci.

Comment l’idée d’intégrer le mime à ce projet vous est-elle venue?
L’ambiance intime de Carnegie Hall m’a inspirée : j’avais envie d’explorer cet environnement visuel. J’ai donc invité ma grande amie Yayoi Hirano à se joindre à moi. Danseuse aussi originale qu’unique, elle allie les arts japonais et kabuki à l’aide de ses propres masques d’expression finement sculptés. Avec dix d’entre eux, elle a chorégraphié les dix courtes pièces composant le cycle Histoires de Jacques Ibert. 

Jacques Ibert est un compositeur français. Qu’est-ce qui vous a inspirée à combiner sa musique et ce type de danse japonaise, qui se rapproche du mime?
La rigueur spartiate de cette musique française m’a tout de suite fait penser à la précision japonaise de Yayoi. J’imaginais une mise en mouvement digne de la partition. La chorégraphie qu’interprète Yayoi Hirano sur ces dix petites pièces leur confère une dimension nouvelle et un attrait visuel immédiat. Les personnages de l’histoire eux-mêmes prennent vie dans les visages que représentent les masques. Or, leur caractère s’incarne avec davantage de vigueur par les mouvements corporels et la transposition rythmique de l’atmosphère musicale.

Je me plais à associer le piano à la danse et au cinéma, et cela s’avère ma façon préférée de jouer de la musique de chambre. À ce titre, ma collaboration avec Yayoi compte parmi mes rencontres artistiques les plus enrichissantes.

Que pouvez-vous nous dire concernant le reste du programme?
J’explore le lien inhabituel entre les musiques française et japonaise en interprétant les Variations sur un thème de Poulenc de Kouji Taku. Le reste du programme comprend la Sonate pour piano de Yoshinao Nakada, créée en 1946, donc inspirée par la guerre, et les Dix études que j’ai commandées à la compositrice Yukiko Nishimura.

Yayoi et moi sommes ravies de présenter ce récital à Orford Musique et espérons qu’il s’agira d’une soirée unique et agréable!

SarahDavisBuechner

Sara Davis Buechner,
pianiste & professeure

PARTENAIRES & COMMANDITAIRES

Hydro-Quebec
UdeS
FieraCapital
desjardins-300x85
UdeM
TVA
Quebec
Orford
logo-LaTribune
Canada
Magog
LeRefletduLac
X