• Bistro Rondo
  • Jobs
  • Contact Us
  • News
    • Luc Beauséjour

      • Université de Montréal
      • Conservatoire de musique de Montréal
      • Cégep St-Laurent
      Musical Instrument: Harpsichord
    • l-beausejour-classe

      Harpsichordist and organist Luc Beauséjour is known for his wealth of innovative ideas in creating concert programs imbued with refinement and authenticity, whether they are recitals or variable-geometry concerts by Clavecin en concert, an organization he founded in 1994 and has since directed. About his musicality, Le Devoir wrote: “The natural breathing of his harpsichord and the remarkable attention he gives to proportions and singing make him a rare artist.” Luc leads a very active career, performing in recitals in North and South America as well as in Europe. The Conseil québécois de la musique awarded him seven Opus Prizes over the years, some of which rewarded productions of Clavecin en concert. He has also earned two Félix Awards at the ADISQ Gala. He won first prize at the 1985 Erwin Bodky International Harpsichord Competition in Boston as well as prizes and honours in several other international competitions. For several years now, he has also been actively involved in educational activities in Montréal.

      Luc Beauséjour has nearly 40 recordings to his credit. Under the Naxos label, he recorded Antoine Forqueray’s Harpsichord Pieces in two volumes, Caspar Ferdinand Fischer’s Musical Parnassus in two volumes, and J.S. Bach: Well Tempered Clavier in two double volumes. For Analekta, he recorded two albums of Scarlatti Sonatas, French Music on Two Harpsichords with Hervé Niquet, Baroque Session on Piano, Boimortier: Six sonatas for Flute and Harpsichord Op. 91 with Claire Guimond, J.S. Bach: Sonatas for Violin and Harpsichord with James Ehnes, Mondonville : Pièces de clavecin avec voix ou violon, opus 5, and J.S. Bach: Famous Works on Pedal Harpsichord. And with Clavecin en concert, still under the Analekta label, he can be heard in Couperin : Concerts royaux and, with Julie Boulianne, in two collections of melodies, one by Handel and Porpora, the other by Handel and Vivaldi.